Ridding the Tartar of Mistrust

Spiritual Gingivitis is when someone gossips, they are usually inflamed with a desire to spread the germs, or spread the news so to speak. Gingivitis is an infection that destroys the tissue that support the teeth. Likewise, gossip is an infection that destroys the support system that you have. It ruins and separates close friendships.

The cure is a deep cleansing of God’s Word in your mouth. God, in His beauty, is so very trustworthy, and He wants to exchange the spirit of gossip in us and make us trustworthy like Him.

Tartar of mistrust.

You know that you have this condition if others feel comfortable about approaching you about others.

My poor spiritual oral hygiene was exposed once when a friend approached me about breaking a confidence. I call it the tartar of mistrust. My heart was exposed; I realized that this was an area in which I needed a deep cleaning.

We need to avoid a man who has bad breath, or talks too much, because a gossiper always betrays a confidence (Proverbs 11:13).

When the Lord convicted me of the bad breath of gossip, it was different because it was with my best friend. I just felt like I could tell her everything. I knew that she wouldn’t tell anyone else; she was a safe person to confide in.

Oh how often it is when gossip is disguised with, ” we need to pray for so and so because…”

But the Lord showed me that speaking about others to her caused my best friend to distance herself from the one I was speaking about. It also caused my heart to be puffed up, as if I were better than they were. The sin of this practice made my heart heavy; I
needed God to touch my mouth with His cleansing coal. Dear Lord, exchange the gossip in me for the quiet spirit that is in You!

I fell to my knees in repentance and prayed, “Please forgive me, Lord! Cleanse my mouth; help me keep it shut. Keep my tongue from evil. Give me a spiritual mouth cleansing and rid me of the tartar of mistrust.

Spiritual Flossing.

Flossing out the filthy language is another beauty treatment we need for our mouths.

mouthwash-smile

 

When that coal touches our lips, we are receiving a beauty treatment for our tongues. That coal turns filth into pure gold.

I am sure that many of you will share my pain when we talk about going to the dentist. I absolutely hate going to the dentist, even though I know it is in my best interest to get that darn cavity out of my mouth. This cavity had been screaming at me to be removed, and I endured the pain until it was filled. I thought of the Holy Spirit filling me up to be
able to speak with His anointing. How could I not?

The handheld instrument called an explorer that the dentists use spotted that decay of selfishness instantly. But the hidden cavities of pride needed the x-ray vision of the Holy Spirit to be detected. That was me in real life. In my life, the decay was spreading, making me centered on myself. Once the hidden cavity of pride was brought to the light, I made it a point to remove it from my life. I confessed it as pride and selfishness, and then the Lord gave me a dose of His beauty that drilled right into the root, removing the decay and brightening up my smile with His radiance. He makes me whiter than snow.

When I first gave my life to the Lord over twenty years ago, He dealt with my filthy language. I was accustomed to talking like a sailor or a truck driver. Cussing just seemed so normal. My parents cussed, my friends cussed, and so naturally I cussed too. I remember when I was little and had cussed. My mom said she was going to wash
my mouth out with soap. I learned right away that it was not pleasing to the Lord—one of my first beauty treatments as an early believer. Now when I hear foul language, it does not stick to me like plaque; instead, it is quickly forgotten.

With pride and haughtiness comes a lot of trash talk, and that needs to be removed if are going to be virtuous men and women whose speech is humble and gracious. Another word for this prideful talk is godless chatter, and we are instructed to turn away from it and avoid it because those who indulge in it will become more and more ungodly (2 Timothy 2:16). The Bible is the best mouthwash out there. It cleanses your mouth as you read it and speak it out loud. We need a Spirit-filled cleansing mouthwash for any unwholesome, foul, or abusive talk that comes out of our mouths.

The beauty comes when we turn from trash talk and become discreet and chaste in our speech. That, my friend, is better than lip gloss. It has been my prayer that when I open my mouth, I only do so to let my speech be filled with humility and wisdom, in kindness, and for edification only!

We have the power to either tear down or build up with our tongues. It is true what our parents told us, “If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.” In other words, shut the mouth, and open the ears. Let’s start building God’s beautiful kingdom as we genuinely listen and speak life to each other.

Now that is the beautiful breath of God!

About Jodie Dye

Originally from the Detroit, Michigan area, Jodie has made Bradenton, FL her home since October 2015. A former gang member and drug addict who had lost all hope of living, Dye felt the Lord calling her to follow him on Sept. 1, 1992. She has been following Jesus Christ for over 25 years with a greater addiction than she had with drugs. Her life testifies that God can create beauty from the hopeless cases in today’s society. What the enemy meant for her demise, God turned everything around and all things became new in her life. Bill and Jodie Dye married in October 10, 2010. They have three children each, making their lovely family a model of the brady bunch. Her calling is to prepare the Church for the coming of Jesus Christ. She is very passionate about helping people inside the Church walls to know their identity in Christ so they can be better equipped to live out what they believe. She has written four books with the focus on this preparation. Her book called Beauty Treatments: Prepare to Meet Your King helps the Bride of Christ prepare to meet King Jesus for when He returns. Jodie directs and hosts Beauty Treatment retreats, workshops and conferences. She has also been a speaker at various women's events and conferences. For more information on the next retreat, please visit www.innerbeautytreatments.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ridding the Tartar of Mistrust

  1. ThasiaAwad says:

    Reblogged this on Thasia Awad and commented:
    I don’t hear ver many people talk about the spirit of gossip but it is just as deadly as any other sin we engage in. A must read!

    Like

  2. ThasiaAwad says:

    Jodie I love how you are okay with putting yourself out there for the sake of others learning from your mistakes. That takes confidence in knowing who you are and great vulnerability. God bless you lady!
    Also, I appreciate when people confront the spirit of gossip because I think most people consider it one of the “little sins”, when in all actuality, the spirit of a gossiper has the abilities to destroy the whole foundation of friendship, family and community.
    Trust is one of the most important parts in founding relationships and community. When we are in relationships with others, they trust that we won’t go around telling others what we think of them or what they’ve told us without having that conversation with them first. Once that trust has been betrayed with the spirit of gossip (or slander and lying), a big part of our foundation is gone- and if we don’t have trust, we don’t have anything!
    Scripture says the “a gossip betrays a confidence, but the trustworthy person keeps a secret” which means it’s hard to confide, again, in someone whom you entrust with the secrets of your heart, after they’ve carelessly exposed you. However, a person who can take the issues of your heart before God in secret, is a person worthy of trust!

    Like

Leave a Reply

