Me, My selfie and I-dolatry

It’s amazing how thirsty you become, when you come to the well with an empty bucket.

I recently came across a post on Facebook which opened my eyes a little wider than they usually are. It talked about birthdays being one of the most holy days on a satanic calendar, and though I may not completely agree that celebrating birthdays is satanic there is some truth I found in that post.

When my birthday comes around, I have always said “this day is all about ‘me’. ‘What are you going to do for ME? What are you going to get ME? How many people will wish ME a happy birthday? Will anyone remember MY DAY”? When things didn’t go my way, like being snowed in with a level 3 on MY birthday, I pouted and said, “my birthday sucked”,Wow it is all about me, isn’t it?

Do I stop to consider that it is still a day the Lord has made? Or that it really is all about HIM? So in that perspective, I could see how Satanic it can be, to devote a day to myself, as if I was the one who created it. And if I think like that, then I really must worship myself, and treat myself like a god. Oh my! What an eye opener.

eyes

Then I got to thinking, honestly everyday is really more about me then it is about HIM. Not just my birthday but everyday. I have been my own god in a sense. I have committed idolatry.

Idolatry means a blind excessive devotion to something or someone. WOW!

After pondering that definition for a night, I woke up to quickly delete the Facebook app off of my phone. Why? Because I know it has been something I have dedicated more devotion to than His Word.

My phone laying right next to my bed, is the first thing I grab in the morning. No condemnation, but conviction here, why am I not grabbing my Bible first? Because the phone is in the way. Once I removed the obstacle, the desire for His Word becomes something I crave again. Something I grab for as if my very existence depended upon it.

He never forces Himself on us. He just waits patiently at the well, ready to fill us when we come to Him with an empty bucket. Empty of all our selfies; self driven or selfish ambitions, self promotion, self glorification, self pity, self righteousness, and self satisfaction.

More of YOU Lord and less of ME, please!

Everything is permissable but not everything is beneficial. Everything is permissable but not everything is constructive [ I shall not be mastered by anything]. Nobody should seek his own good, but the good of others.

1 Corinthians 10:23-24

This post is just a reflective post on what the Lord is opening my eyes to. I believe this is going to be the beginning of life change. I look forward to being still in His Presence to receive His posts in a daily feed. 🙂

(Ha-ha get it? Instead of getting your posts in the news feed)

With that said, I am taking some time away from social media, except for what I post on my blog. I am not sure of the time frame, but I know it needs to be awhile, so that I can be set free from some selfie stuff. I need more of God in my life and it is my prayer that you will want more of Him too. Because God is sooo amazing! He is so worth our time, and He is so worth our devotion. He is worthy of all our praise. Let’s give Him what He deserves!

GLORY TO GOD in the highest!

About Jodie Dye

Originally from the Detroit, Michigan area, Jodie has made Bradenton, FL her home since October 2015. A former gang member and drug addict who had lost all hope of living, Dye felt the Lord calling her to follow him on Sept. 1, 1992. She has been following Jesus Christ for over 25 years with a greater addiction than she had with drugs. Her life testifies that God can create beauty from the hopeless cases in today’s society. What the enemy meant for her demise, God turned everything around and all things became new in her life. Bill and Jodie Dye married in October 10, 2010. They have three children each, making their lovely family a model of the brady bunch. Her calling is to prepare the Church for the coming of Jesus Christ. She is very passionate about helping people inside the Church walls to know their identity in Christ so they can be better equipped to live out what they believe. She has written four books with the focus on this preparation. Her book called Beauty Treatments: Prepare to Meet Your King helps the Bride of Christ prepare to meet King Jesus for when He returns. Jodie directs and hosts Beauty Treatment retreats, workshops and conferences. She has also been a speaker at various women's events and conferences. For more information on the next retreat, please visit www.innerbeautytreatments.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Me, My selfie and I-dolatry

  1. betsydecruz says:

    I’m praying now, Jodie, that the Lord will, indeed give you MORE of HIMSELF and less of you. That’s what we all need. I know the temptation of social media. I finally got a smartphone for the first time in late August, and for the first few weeks it was tempting to grab that phone first thing when I got up, but I don’t do it anymore. I go to God’s word first on most days now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

