The Grass is Greener on the Other Side

At least in my scenario it is. How many times have you heard someone say, “I just have to get out of this place, and it will surely be better anywhere else I go?” Every time I heard someone say those words, I would respond with, “the grass is not greener on the other side, and if it is, it is because of all the bull**** left to fertilize that side.”

I am in my new home. As I walk around taking it all in, I marvel at God. He led my husband to a fully furnished place. When I was in Toledo, there wasn’t a day which had gone by where I wasn’t worried about the unknown. I would fret about everything, like what to take and what to leave. I wasted so much time worrying, and gave little attention to praying. I became “Ye of little faith.”

Florida was not my idea of a great move to be on honest with you. I struggled inside when my husband said he felt like he needed to move there. I had hoped it was North or South Carolina. 🙂

He had left mid July to scope out the new green land full of palm trees. He then began the process of bringing his family to the sunshine state. Within a week of being here, he got a really great job at Publix (green logo lol) where working is a pleasure. He knew the Lord called him and his confidence in the Lord grew stronger.

publix-logo-web-readyAnd Working TOO!

And now that I am here where everything is green, and not orange, brown, and red (as is the colors up north), it does seem to renew my faith. Even though I still believe that we must be content wherever we are, this move has restored a little more sunshine in my life and I can honestly say, this side of green is better for me.

12144746_10207161759895049_3981337915851120668_n

This is a post for Five Minute Friday, where we are given a prompt and have 5 minutes to free write. Today’s prompt was Green.

About Jodie Dye

Originally from the Detroit, Michigan area, Jodie has made Bradenton, FL her home since October 2015. A former gang member and drug addict who had lost all hope of living, Dye felt the Lord calling her to follow him on Sept. 1, 1992. She has been following Jesus Christ for over 25 years with a greater addiction than she had with drugs. Her life testifies that God can create beauty from the hopeless cases in today’s society. What the enemy meant for her demise, God turned everything around and all things became new in her life. Bill and Jodie Dye married in October 10, 2010. They have three children each, making their lovely family a model of the brady bunch. Her calling is to prepare the Church for the coming of Jesus Christ. She is very passionate about helping people inside the Church walls to know their identity in Christ so they can be better equipped to live out what they believe. She has written four books with the focus on this preparation. Her book called Beauty Treatments: Prepare to Meet Your King helps the Bride of Christ prepare to meet King Jesus for when He returns. Jodie directs and hosts Beauty Treatment retreats, workshops and conferences. She has also been a speaker at various women's events and conferences. For more information on the next retreat, please visit www.innerbeautytreatments.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Grass is Greener on the Other Side

  1. Brie Smith says:

    Moving can be so hard. I’m so excited to read more about how God uses your family in Florida! I personally love Florida but my attraction to it is blue, big and surfable 🙂 Where God guides He provides and I’m sure that he will find a way to fill your house with all four seasons, even if there are palm trees and sunshine outside.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodie, I can appreciate your experience of worrying about the unknown and fretting over a change. Life sometimes seems like an ongoing lesson of learning to trust God more and worry less. Visiting from Five Minute Friday. Blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. t3770msw says:

    Willie is already talking about moving back, lol. We shall see how bad this winter is and make a decision next summer, haha. I’m sure I could transfer FL is full of Brookdale communities. I think the saying is THE GRASS IS NOT ALWAYS GREWNET ON THE OTHER SIDE….LOL. Sometimes it is and sometimes it isn’t. Sometimes it is for awhile. It was super green our first year or two in Florida. Then we missed the oranges, reds, yellows, rusts and even the white stuff a little, lol. But leave a light on I’m coming to visit, your so close to my friend Debbie Some, a great Christian woman, you two should hook up. She is there now but only the month of October, then comes back to Mich until Jan 5 then she will be there until April. She is in Palmetto. She told me to sell you to tell Bill to bring you home Santa’s Slippers ice cream or something, it’s a coffee flavored public brand ice cream. It is really good. Lol. Love and miss you already!!!❤❤❤❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

