Please Make IT Fit, God!

As I was going through my closet to start removing some clutter, I couldn’t help but notice that I had to get rid of a lot of articles of clothing that just didn’t fit right anymore. At first it was discouraging because the clothes that didn’t fit was a reminder of my failures. I started to beat myself up because I let myself become heavier than I desired.

Why is it that millions of women hold on to clothes in their closet that they will never wear? Isn’t it because we one day hope to fit into it again? Maybe it is because we hope for a change and expect it to happen in a certain way or size.

I seen this as an opportunity for the Lord to speak to me about the analogy of my clothes not fitting.

He spoke to my heart that just as I no longer fit into those clothes, I am no longer going to fit into my own plan. I needed to let go of the clothes I wore in the past.

You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self (old clothes that don’t fit anymore), which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires;;to be made new in the attitude of your minds; 24 and to put on the new self,created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.25 Therefore each of you must put off falsehood and speak truthfully to your neighbor, for we are all members of one body.

Ephesians 4:22-25

Okay I will speak plainly now. I have a prodigal son whom I dearly love and cherish and hold onto. Over the years I could feel our relationship becoming more and more constricted as I would try to fit into his heart. I have tried to cover over him, to zip him up and hold onto him like he was my favorite object of affection. Yet it didn’t fit. It became only a reminder of what a failure I have been as a mom, and the weight of that thought was enough to bust a few seams.

In Bible terms, our clothing is a fitting symbol of our way of life.  As with natural clothing, if our clothes are too tight then I think it means our way of life is some how constricted, as if we put God in a box, and we can’t quite see how we can ever fit into the plan He has for us.

It is what or who we hold onto that holds us back.

I have become attached to things/people that don’t quite fit anymore. No matter how hard I lay on the bed to button up the jeans, it has become too uncomfortable to wear. I am just not fitting into the old ways of giving in to the cravings, for the love I hoped to have from my son. I just need to let it go and give it away. Likewise I am letting go of the things I can not change, and giving it to God.

The best part of giving it to God, is His provision in return.

He then gives us a new wardrobe that is more fitting for us.

                “Sing joyfully to the Lord, you righteous; it is fitting for the upright to praise” him. (Psalm 33:1)

Praise the Lord. How good it is to sing praises to our God, how pleasant and fitting to praise him! (Psalm 147:1)

When I fit into the clothes He provides me, then I no longer cling to clothes that no longer fit. Instead I can embrace the growth in my life. And throwing off all those negative thoughts that don’t fit in the mind of Christ’s child.

I put on righteousness, and it clothed me: my judgment was as a robe and a diadem” (Job 29:14)

“I delight greatly in the Lord; my soul rejoices in my God. For he has clothed me with garments of salvation and arrayed me in a robe of his righteousness, as a bridegroom adorns his head like a priest, and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.”              (Isaiah 61:10)

Now that I got rid of those clothes, those old ways of thinking, those old habits, may I come over to your house and help you make more space for the garments of praise that God has for you? If millions of women are dealing with this issue, maybe you are one of them.

And one look in your closet, I can see you also have things you have no intention of getting rid of. You are hoping you will one day fit into the good ole days of your past too. Or maybe you have a different reason why you just can’t let go. I know some people who have clothes in their closet with the tags still on them. If that is you, then maybe you are trying too hard to fit in. Perhaps it is not who you really are.

So here is a challenge. Go to your closet and take a peek. Examine what lies on the hangers of your heart.

blogpost

If there are clothes too big and you feel you could drown in them, then give your fears and inadequacies to God.

If there are clothes too tight, then take a deep breath and let the control go.

If there are clothes that are soiled, then you may need to change some habits or old ways of thinking. Just drop your soiled clothes off at the Loving Launderer and He will make them white as snow.

Once you have taken an honest evaluation of what you are holding onto, start praying and ask the Lord to help you to release and peace will soon be yours. Comment below if you took the challenge to examine what you have hanging.

 Hang your treasures in Heaven!

I am so excited to link up with other like minded bloggers, they would love a visit from you too:

Tuesday’s #RaRaLinkUp 

A Little R & R Wednesday Link up Party

#LiveFree Thursday

Thoughtful Thursdays

Thought Provoking Thursdays

Treat Yo Self Thursday

No Rules Weekend Blog Party

About Jodie Dye

Originally from the Detroit, Michigan area, Jodie has made Bradenton, FL her home since October 2015. A former gang member and drug addict who had lost all hope of living, Dye felt the Lord calling her to follow him on Sept. 1, 1992. She has been following Jesus Christ for over 25 years with a greater addiction than she had with drugs. Her life testifies that God can create beauty from the hopeless cases in today’s society. What the enemy meant for her demise, God turned everything around and all things became new in her life. Bill and Jodie Dye married in October 10, 2010. They have three children each, making their lovely family a model of the brady bunch. Her calling is to prepare the Church for the coming of Jesus Christ. She is very passionate about helping people inside the Church walls to know their identity in Christ so they can be better equipped to live out what they believe. She has written four books with the focus on this preparation. Her book called Beauty Treatments: Prepare to Meet Your King helps the Bride of Christ prepare to meet King Jesus for when He returns. Jodie directs and hosts Beauty Treatment retreats, workshops and conferences. She has also been a speaker at various women's events and conferences. For more information on the next retreat, please visit www.innerbeautytreatments.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Please Make IT Fit, God!

  1. Oh, I cleaned out my closet last week too! This weekend I looked at my closet again. The clothes are jammed packed! I realized this weekend I need to purge the clothes again!

    I like your analogy about your son. I am going to the same thing with my son. Letting go of him as a teenager has been difficult! I have been totally honest with him to let him know I’m doing my best to let him go so he can make his own choices! I like your analogy about your son. I am going thru the same thing with my son. Letting go of him as a teenager has been difficult! I have been totally honest with him to let him know I’m doing my best to let him go so he can make his own choices. I’ve invited him to let me know when I am choking him and our relationship too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jodiesdye says:

      Julie, I thought of you when I was writing about my son. I am glad that you also saw the hope of letting him go. We have done our best and now to God we leave the rest. Love you Julie and keeping you and your son in prayer. Hang up a promise or two in the closet of your heart.

      Like

  2. thasia1980 says:

    You know what Jodie,
    I clean out my closet once a year because I can’t stand holding on to things I can’t fit anymore because it reminds me of who I’ll never be again. But then I sometimes get happy because It reminds me of how much I’ve matured over the years. Sometimes my old clothes remind me of the woman I’ve become and the childish things I grew from. Then I sometimes tell myself, “if I get rid of this then I can get something better!” But if I hold on to those old clothes, I refuse to buy myself something better. I’m greatful for the times when I choose better!… It looks much better on me!😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. TGAWrites says:

    Great encouraging post. A call to action I think! Blessings.
    I’m visiting you from #RaRalinkup

    W/Love,
    Tayrina from TGAWrites

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jodie,
    This is an awesome analogy!
    10 years ago I was living with a roommate who had a great perspective when it came to ‘stuff.’ If she had something that she hadn’t used in a year she found a way to give it away/get rid of it. I also love a saying I heard in one of my first jobs out of college: need vs. want. Meaning, do I really need this or do I just want it.
    Thank you for leading and teaching so well.
    So thankful we’re connected!
    Blessings,
    Stacey

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dana H. says:

    Great post. I love your analogy! I was just talking about my closet this morning. It desperately needs cleaning out. I will have to look at what I have hanging. Visiting from #LiveFreeThursday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jodiesdye says:

      Thanks Dana. It seems sometimes like a never ending struggle, but if we do it one hanger at a time, it will soon be a refreshing day. 🙂 Thanks for visiting.

      Like

  6. Winter says:

    This made me think of a friendship I have that no longer fits. That it’s time to let go and be ok about letting go something I know, but my heart has a hard time with. The past few weeks I have had repeated God moments showing me that some things in life are only for a season. Thanks for your words! Visiting from #thoughtprovokingthursdays

    Like

  7. Sandra says:

    Did you fly over to Northern Ireland and look at what I’ve been doing recently? Yes giving away clothes I am not sure I will ever fit into again. Then in my study also getting rid of the abundance of things that I realistically will not use again. I find it hard to let go of some things too. Our three kids are all grown up now and living in different countries but never out of our hearts or God’s.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jodiesdye says:

      Haha You mean it is not just people in America who have this problem? Thanks for stopping by to encourage Sandra. I hope you will come by again sometime.

      Like

Leave a Reply

