His Choice Meat to Eat

Nehemiah said, “Go and enjoy choice food and sweet drinks, and send some to those who have nothing prepared. This day is holy to our Lord. Do not grieve, for the joy of the LORD is your strength.” Nehemiah 8:10 (NIV)

Every time you spend time with the Lord you are enjoying choice food, and His Presence is sweet drink for the soul. I myself have not been as prepared as I would like to admit. In fact, I have been the ONE who had NOTHING prepared to eat. My plate (journal) and my cup (heart) have been empty.

Actually, my heart has been heavy (overweight), and I have continued to grieve over a move we are making to Florida. I will miss my friends terribly. My mind has been flooded with fears, and I often try talking myself out of going. However, that is not His choice for me.

Thankfully some sweet sisters who did have something prepared shared their choice meat with me. One sister in particular, literally put her slab of Scripture right in front of my face and said, “Read (Eat) this”. I read (ate) from Philippians 4:8,

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

Once I chewed this verse up in slow bites, it digested within me, and it produced the joy that gives me the strength for today, not immediately but gradually throughout the day.

Yes this day is Holy to our God and He wants us to enjoy choice foods. Likewise, we have a CHOICE whether we will eat (think about) the good food of His Word, or the junk food of our own jabbering. So today (I will let tomorrow worry about itself) I will enjoy the choice foods set before me, and hopefully tomorrow I will again prepare my plate with the right CHOICE of food. His Choice for me. Let His Will be done, not my will but His.

imagesTell me I am not alone. I know there has to be a few of you that struggle with choosing the wrong kinds of foods day in and day out. Fast food, junk food, and canned food, it is all processed but not the best choice. It is way easier to pop in a DVD, than to prepare (study) for ourselves. In fact if you are like me, it seems easier to prepare a meal if you are expecting company. Likewise when it comes to encouraging others, I always have a “choice word” to give. But when it comes to preparing a spiritual meal just for me, there is a tendency to just grab and go. However, we miss out on something very vital to our journey.

He doesn’t want us to just “Grab and Go”, He wants us to “GO and ENJOY”.

Have you tasted what I am talking about? Then go ahead and “send some to those who have nothing prepared”. Leave a comment below for someone (including me) who could use a few righteous recipes for preparing a Holy Ghost filled meal for one.

I am linking up today with quite a few cheerleaders in the faith with Kelly Balarie & Friends  Come join us. 

About Jodie Dye

Originally from the Detroit, Michigan area, Jodie has made Bradenton, FL her home since October 2015. A former gang member and drug addict who had lost all hope of living, Dye felt the Lord calling her to follow him on Sept. 1, 1992. She has been following Jesus Christ for over 25 years with a greater addiction than she had with drugs. Her life testifies that God can create beauty from the hopeless cases in today’s society. What the enemy meant for her demise, God turned everything around and all things became new in her life. Bill and Jodie Dye married in October 10, 2010. They have three children each, making their lovely family a model of the brady bunch. Her calling is to prepare the Church for the coming of Jesus Christ. She is very passionate about helping people inside the Church walls to know their identity in Christ so they can be better equipped to live out what they believe. She has written four books with the focus on this preparation. Her book called Beauty Treatments: Prepare to Meet Your King helps the Bride of Christ prepare to meet King Jesus for when He returns. Jodie directs and hosts Beauty Treatment retreats, workshops and conferences. She has also been a speaker at various women's events and conferences. For more information on the next retreat, please visit www.innerbeautytreatments.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to His Choice Meat to Eat

  1. You are not alone! Yes, it can be so hard to ignore the better part and so easy to choose leftovers rather than that choice meat. For so long, I got caught up in what I thought my time with the Lord should look like. I got so focused on the how and why, I lost sight of Who. It’s when I genuinally sit before God and not only seek His word, but listen for His voice, that I really walk away knowing that I met Him or more so He met me. Thank you for sharing honestly and transparently, Jodie. Blessed to stop by from the #raralinkup.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jodiesdye says:

      Thank you Tiffany for stopping by to cheer me on. You added some tasty awesome sauce to put on top of the choice meat. Yummy! I love it when we can just be real with each other, it makes the fellowship and feasting at His table so much sweeter.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

