Undone – A Book Review

We sat in her hotel room. Ten of us were in a circle getting to know each other. Each one of us with a story to tell. We would have just five minutes to share it. I sat there with my nerves escalating, and so incredibly nervous at the thought of presenting my pitch. I love to talk and speak, but this time I would be critiqued, by Michele.

For the 24 hours leading up to that moment, an unusual paranoia came over me. When it came time for me to give my five minute speech, I started off well but then I got stuck. I literally choked. Gasping for air, and needing water in front of all these ladies, who in my opinion were made for the stage. I was humiliated. But Michele came to my side, put her arm around me with so much compassion, I wondered if she was real. She put her hand on my leg and began to praise me for the areas that drew her in. She gave me valuable feedback that I could use and it didn’t feel like I was being judged. She was an angel.

10524312_10203826009663378_1910700484896662201_n

There was no doubt she was going to be my favorite speaker at the She Speaks event last year. She was assigned to be my speaker coach. I am forever grateful that God put her in my path, but even more grateful to be apart of her launch team for her new book that will be released on March 10.

Undone is written by a women who is a living testimony of God’s strength being made perfect in her weakness. The strength she exemplified in that hotel room is no short of a miracle. When I read this book, and connected with her words, I was undone and forever changed.

You would have never guessed all that Michele had been through sitting in that peaceful hotel room. She didn’t speak of it. She just listened to all of us, and genuinely crafted our presentations for success. She is one of those women who just look like they have it altogether. Wow, is that the farthest from the truth, but through her transparency and faith in the One who holds all things together, she was a reflection of His completeness. I think that is why I second guessed myself at being a speaker. But Michele taught me a lesson from her story and gave me a different perspective on counting the costs to follow Jesus.

Michele has a story that can relate to every person on the face of this earth in one way or another. For me the biggest part of Michele’s life that touched mine is raising her teenage boys. Prodigal ones. Since I am going through a very similar chapter in my life, this quote by Michele transformed me completely.

“Love. Unyielding and authentic love.

Not a love based on performance or position, but the kind of love that embraces each other – in progress child and fallible parent –for who they are today, not who they may or may not become tomorrow.

This is the true test of parenting, when you find your child in a mess of their making and you have to decide whether you’ll guard your heart and keep him at arm’s length, or love him in the middle of it. Not agree with him, condone his behavior, or rescue him. Maybe not even like him. But there is strength in the person who digs deep to both disagree and love with equal passion. To make convictions known, maybe even say goodbye. But who, at the end of all the tough decisions, has the guts to say, “I love you. And that won’t ever change.”

I am UNDONE.

Michele is an amazing story teller. Her words sucked me in almost immediately. Even with a busy schedule and my own chaos, it was a book I couldn’t put down. I loved this book so much! My faith is renewed. My gratitude is released. My love and passion is revived. My heart is restored. His strength is made perfect [completely whole; not lacking anything] in my weakness. WOW!

Get this book on March 10. Pre-order now and make peace with the unexpected life that you have.

LOVE the cover!!

10984051_10205354689279413_6318047069639003208_n

 

Michele is a real down to earth kind of gal who is worth the follow.

Follow her blog, she is always sharing about her adventures in Christ.

Also on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest,  and Instagram.

 

About Jodie Dye

Originally from the Detroit, Michigan area, Jodie has made Bradenton, FL her home since October 2015. A former gang member and drug addict who had lost all hope of living, Dye felt the Lord calling her to follow him on Sept. 1, 1992. She has been following Jesus Christ for over 25 years with a greater addiction than she had with drugs. Her life testifies that God can create beauty from the hopeless cases in today’s society. What the enemy meant for her demise, God turned everything around and all things became new in her life. Bill and Jodie Dye married in October 10, 2010. They have three children each, making their lovely family a model of the brady bunch. Her calling is to prepare the Church for the coming of Jesus Christ. She is very passionate about helping people inside the Church walls to know their identity in Christ so they can be better equipped to live out what they believe. She has written four books with the focus on this preparation. Her book called Beauty Treatments: Prepare to Meet Your King helps the Bride of Christ prepare to meet King Jesus for when He returns. Jodie directs and hosts Beauty Treatment retreats, workshops and conferences. She has also been a speaker at various women's events and conferences. For more information on the next retreat, please visit www.innerbeautytreatments.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

