This Too Shall Pass

Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!

Has anyone wondered what happened to me?

We haven’t had the internet so I haven’t been able to inform. In the beginning of November I had planned on writing everyday to express some thankful thoughts on my blog. Things just didn’t go as I had thought it would. Nevertheless I am still thankful. God is good. God is faithful and He is having His way regardless of how stubborn we are.

For anyone who has followed the course of our uncharted journey, you may have wondered if we moved or not.

Wow where to start?

We have been homeless since October 1st. We have been provided shelter through family and friends, however, we haven’t been in a home of our own. All of our stuff has been in storage. It has been extremely hard for our family. But thankfully our circumstances are drawing us closer to the Lord and each other. It is amazing how hard times can do that for a family.

We had hoped to be gone by October to warmer weather but one obstacle after another has kept us here. We have made the choice to go ahead and stay here in the cold. At least we wouldn’t be fighting God on it anymore which will make the stay more bearable. My husband and I both have never been one to like the winters. I am not trying to complain, but I am ready to live permanently in warmer weather. My husband has a strong pull down south because all of his children are there, as well as his only grand-baby. So I do believe that one day we will move closer to them but it is just not the time right now.

The whole move was inspired by my husband to begin with, and I gave him 100% support to making it happen. It didn’t seem like my husband’s character to just pick up and leave. You would have expected that behavior from me, but this was all him. He really felt like God was telling us to move. We moved alright, but not where we thought we would.

There are specific circumstances that are keeping us here. So it confirms that God is not opening the doors for us to leave yet. I will not go into details about my son’s situation, but I went to my son’s last court date this week, and he is doing great. However, I was threatened and given exactly one week to get my son in school, or I would be sanctioned (fined). We have made many attempts to get him in school but no one will enroll him without proof of residency, which we no longer had. I had hoped to wait it out, and just get him in school in January when we moved to the south. My husband was going to wait until after Christmas to leave his job, because he couldn’t leave them hanging, so we couldn’t leave til then. But now the pressure is on.

Per my son’s treatment counselor, it is imperative that he continue to be involved in the program that he is in as well. He feels Isaac is doing great, but if we were to leave without him finishing his program, which is for another five months minimum, then it could set him back.

SO we are now looking for a place to live within this polar vortex of Ohio. We have until Tuesday to have made some progress towards getting him in school. I don’t want him to just go to any school. However, I just can’t believe how much rent costs every where, especially in the nicer areas. It is no wonder there are so many homeless people out there. While we were staying at a shelter and with my mom, we were able to save a little bit to get a place but on a monthly basis, it is just outrageous the cost of living. So please pray that God will open doors for an affordable place this weekend.

This too shall pass!

I am truly thankful that God has made it clear to us that it is not in His plan. He is always faithful to protect us from our plans. God’s Word is true, when He says that “Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails” (Proverbs 19:21).

I hope that you all are having a wonderful Thanksgiving.

About Jodie Dye

Originally from the Detroit, Michigan area, Jodie has made Bradenton, FL her home since October 2015. A former gang member and drug addict who had lost all hope of living, Dye felt the Lord calling her to follow him on Sept. 1, 1992. She has been following Jesus Christ for over 25 years with a greater addiction than she had with drugs. Her life testifies that God can create beauty from the hopeless cases in today’s society. What the enemy meant for her demise, God turned everything around and all things became new in her life. Bill and Jodie Dye married in October 10, 2010. They have three children each, making their lovely family a model of the brady bunch. Her calling is to prepare the Church for the coming of Jesus Christ. She is very passionate about helping people inside the Church walls to know their identity in Christ so they can be better equipped to live out what they believe. She has written four books with the focus on this preparation. Her book called Beauty Treatments: Prepare to Meet Your King helps the Bride of Christ prepare to meet King Jesus for when He returns. Jodie directs and hosts Beauty Treatment retreats, workshops and conferences. She has also been a speaker at various women's events and conferences. For more information on the next retreat, please visit www.innerbeautytreatments.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This Too Shall Pass

  1. denise flynn says:

    Wonderful word Jodie. Thank you for sharing. God, give strength, peace & provision.

    Like

  2. t3770msw says:

    Will continue to pray. At least your situation helped me to clear some clutter from our “Monica’s Closet”,(Friends reference) lol. Well u always have a WARM place to stay a few days if u do get the call.
    love y’all!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

