Day 3 of Chartering the Unknown

The word today is NEW.

I am participating in a 31 day challenge to bloggers everywhere to write for five minutes everyday in October. This challenge was issued by Kate Motaung’s link up.

Five-Minute-Free-Writes-button-300x300

 See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland (Isaiah 43:19).

I know that the Lord is doing a new thing with our family, and within all of us. I know that old things pass away and all things become new in the kingdom of God.

This is a new kind of wilderness for me. We are facing new challenges that test our faith but also new opportunities to trust God for our new beginning.

Back in the summer we went to North Carolina to check out a possible new church, if the Lord was going to move us there. We connected with a family that went to that church and they had us over to their home. We sat around talking about the logistics, like schools, neighborhoods, stores, etc.

“So Bill what kind of work do you do?” she asked.

“I am a meat-cutter,” said Bill.

“Oh my goodness!,” she said as she jumped out of her seat to go to the other room for something.

She came back with a stack of papers in her hand and she began explaining her excitement, “I am a legal assistant, and I work for the government, and I am not looking for work. When I was at work this morning, I saw this job and God told me to print it out. I did with no questions asked, and I put it in my purse and forgot about it until now. It is a job for a food inspector for the Dept. of Agriculture and the only requirement is that you had previous experience as a meat-cutter.”

“Wow, this is not something my wife does,” exclaimed her husband with awe still on his face.

Bill and I just looked at each other and both of us felt like God was getting ready to do something new. We applied for that position, but it was available all over the country and we were only allowed to pick 5 places. We prayed and looked at each other again. We smiled and picked two in North Carolina, two in South Carolina, and one in Florida.

We have heard that it takes the government some time to take new applicants, so while we wait, we trust the Lord. We look to the Lord to make a way in the wilderness, and streams to come out of the wasteland.

Join me everyday as I chart our progress (in 5 minutes) on the unknown adventure with a known God.

Charteringunknown

About Jodie Dye

Originally from the Detroit, Michigan area, Jodie has made Bradenton, FL her home since October 2015. A former gang member and drug addict who had lost all hope of living, Dye felt the Lord calling her to follow him on Sept. 1, 1992. She has been following Jesus Christ for over 25 years with a greater addiction than she had with drugs. Her life testifies that God can create beauty from the hopeless cases in today’s society. What the enemy meant for her demise, God turned everything around and all things became new in her life. Bill and Jodie Dye married in October 10, 2010. They have three children each, making their lovely family a model of the brady bunch. Her calling is to prepare the Church for the coming of Jesus Christ. She is very passionate about helping people inside the Church walls to know their identity in Christ so they can be better equipped to live out what they believe. She has written four books with the focus on this preparation. Her book called Beauty Treatments: Prepare to Meet Your King helps the Bride of Christ prepare to meet King Jesus for when He returns. Jodie directs and hosts Beauty Treatment retreats, workshops and conferences. She has also been a speaker at various women's events and conferences. For more information on the next retreat, please visit www.innerbeautytreatments.com
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Chartering the Unknown. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 3 of Chartering the Unknown

  1. Patty says:

    I moved several years ago. I left all my old friends and moved to a new place in a climate that i have never lived in before. I left the big city for the small town life and have never looked back. The Lord led us here and provided a way for us to make a living and new friends. It is amazing how things manage to work out when you turn it over to Him. I hope you find the happiness that I have found.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. revskid says:

    I was just reading Psalm 36: 1 – 8 this morning. I recommend it to you.
    I waited for a bigger home for almost 9 years and I tried to make plenty of houses be ‘the one’ but it never worked out. When I came to the end of my rope mentally, a house came on the market that was perfect. The couple were believers who had been planning a move to Massachusetts (I live in Barnesville, Ohio) for retirement. But the timing wasn’t right until August before this past one. Then all fell into place for them and then for us. They felt strongly that we were the right couple for the house. And it all worked out. It is perfect for us and I’m a different person in it. The other house was tiny(600 sq. ft.) and on an extremely noisy street on the front and an auto body shop (also noisy) at the back. I came to breaking point when my husband did not like this house at first. I knew it was right. The woman and I prayed and Mike realized it was right for us.
    I don’t mean to imply that you will have to wait 10 years–there were many, many good reasons for our wait esp that someone else had to feel the need to move!
    I very much enjoyed your post and will lift your situation up in prayer.

    Like

  3. revskid says:

    I’m at http://bmeandering.blogspot.com –my blog address does no come up by clicking my name. I followed you at BMF.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

