To Have and to HOLD

To have and to hold from this day forward…

“I do!”

IMG_0410_web

The most amazing vow I have to hold onto since the day that I married this man. He knows how to hold my hand, and hold my heart with so much care. We have been together for almost four years now.

These past few days have been rough as I have gone through some painful moments with my teenage son. As I continue to hold on to God’s promises over his life, my husband continues to hold me through the heart wrenching process of parenting a prodigal son. I am so thankful to my husband. I remember sailing through the struggles with my daughter as a single parent, and to have the support of this man during this rough time is not taken for granted. As I sail these torrential storms yet again, my husband is like the anchor that holds me still.

“Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their labor: 10 If either of them falls down, one can help [hold] the other up. But pity anyone who falls and has no one to help [hold] them up” (Ecclesiastes 4:9-10, NIV emphasis mine).

fb15

These are our children.

From left to right: Katie, Kassey (his) and Victoria (mine); Korey, (his) Isaac and Daniel (mine). I love them all and pray for them daily! God holds them in His hand, and I hold onto His promises in His Word.


And Now…

Daniels five (cough, 20. I am just glad he is writing) minute Friday:

One time there was a little boy who had to do a super mission to carry a very fragile box to a far distance far away from home in four days so he got the box and set for a journey and held on the box so tightly that a lion could not knock out of his arms. After two days of holding on the box he was very tired and went to sleep. When he woke up he dashed off of the road and held onto the box super tight. well the box so light it felt like nothing was in there. When he looked in the in the distance he saw the house when he knocked on the door he was so excited when the people came out the door and the man said, “thank for the box.”

I said out of curiosity, “what is in the box?”

“nothing” said the man, “we are moving and that’s why you had to do this in four days.”

STOP.

And that is OUR five minute Friday, linking up with Kate Motaung and all the fabulous fun on this Friday afternoon. Click the button below to learn more about this group of gifted writers who meet every Friday to free write for five minutes on one word. Today’s word was: hold. 

 

About Jodie Dye

Originally from the Detroit, Michigan area, Jodie has made Bradenton, FL her home since October 2015. A former gang member and drug addict who had lost all hope of living, Dye felt the Lord calling her to follow him on Sept. 1, 1992. She has been following Jesus Christ for over 25 years with a greater addiction than she had with drugs. Her life testifies that God can create beauty from the hopeless cases in today’s society. What the enemy meant for her demise, God turned everything around and all things became new in her life. Bill and Jodie Dye married in October 10, 2010. They have three children each, making their lovely family a model of the brady bunch. Her calling is to prepare the Church for the coming of Jesus Christ. She is very passionate about helping people inside the Church walls to know their identity in Christ so they can be better equipped to live out what they believe. She has written four books with the focus on this preparation. Her book called Beauty Treatments: Prepare to Meet Your King helps the Bride of Christ prepare to meet King Jesus for when He returns. Jodie directs and hosts Beauty Treatment retreats, workshops and conferences. She has also been a speaker at various women's events and conferences. For more information on the next retreat, please visit www.innerbeautytreatments.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to To Have and to HOLD

  1. You writing was ahead of mine on Five Minute Friday. I giggled a bit when I came to your blog. Awash in purple! I love it.
    I wasn’t sure but there were two posts here? I am amazed at the amount of words that you and others get out in five minutes. Perhaps I too will be more wordy in the future.
    Good job on both your posts. Keep up the good work!

    Like

    • jodiesdye says:

      Haha no one post is mine. And the other is my 10 year old son that insists on participating even if it takes him longer than five minutes. I kept telling him, “Your time is up” and he kept saying, “HOLD on mom!” Thanks for stopping by! #FMF

      Like

  2. Abby says:

    I know that has to be hard, Jodie. I have a prodigal brother and my parents and I have spent numerous nights worrying about him and his choices. I’m glad you have a stable husband to hold during this process. Sending up a prayer for you today! And it’s so wonderful that your youngest son likes to write! Always enjoy reading both posts. 🙂

    Like

  3. Lisa says:

    Jodie, I’m tracking with you on holding onto His promises over our kids’ lives! So thankful you have a wonderful husband to support you. I have one of those too, and I can attest that two IS better than one. Lovely take on this week’s prompt.

    Daniel, So I guess the man needed boxes for packing up for the move, huh? Good for that little boy for being faithful to carry out the task even though it appeared like nothing in his hands. Sometimes it feels like what we do amounts to a whole lot of “nothing”, but our faithfulness to do what’s asked of us is really “something” to God! Thanks for your contribution to FMF. It made me think. Good job!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. t3770msw says:

    Great job, now go hold your son and kiss him goodnight.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jodiesdye says:

      Thank you for stopping by. “Hold up, wait a minute put a little love in it,” is the song I thought of when you said go hold your son. 🙂 It is a little loud, but the lyrics are good. My son loves this song and we sing the chorus together, a lot.

      Like

  5. ssandrax says:

    You are so blessed!!! Having a husband to hold you in this time is amassing!!! Hold him also. By the other side, what a great post wrote your son, it’s wonderful you could enjoy doing this together..

    Liked by 1 person

  6. lalawyergal says:

    Thank you dear SheSpeaks friend for seeking me out and introducing me to your wonderful and anointed writing! I am blessed for having read this – and look forward to reading more of your writing. I am fortunate to have a wonderful husband who holds me through a lot of things too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. micey says:

    Hey Jodie, I totally understand the difficulty of parenting alone. I did it with both of my boys and by the grace of god I survived. Glad you aren’t alone anymore. Love your Daniel’s story too. Happy FMF!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. joanneviola says:

    Jodie, I am so glad you left a comment for me as it brought me here 🙂 I would not have wanted to miss your post nor your son’s! You have a beautiful family. Keep holding onto God’s promises for your family as they are each beautiful! Blessings!

    Like

    • jodiesdye says:

      Thank you Joanne I appreciate your encouragement. His Word is true and He is so faithful. I have to hold onto the rope of His Word, otherwise I would surely sink in despair. I am so glad you stopped by. I am also so glad that I found your blog.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Kathryn Shirey says:

    Parenting is so hard and I’m grateful to have a husband to share the burden with me. Prayers for you as you weather this storm – and grateful you have someone to walk by your side this time around!

    Like

Leave a Reply

