The Balloons within my Reach

“What are you doing, mom?” asked Daniel, as he came looking for me to help him with his schoolwork. I was busily looking through some drawers trying to find a timer.

“I am getting ready to write as much as I can in 5 minutes using the word ‘reach’.”

“Ooo, can I do that too?” He asked with an enthusiastic tone.

Daniel went to his computer and I went to mine, and the timer was set. GO!

When I woke up this morning I was reaching for grace. I needed to look up and reach for Jesus to rescue me from my reasoning of failure. I have reason to believe that I am a failure as a mom. My teenage son despises me right now. I am trying to take an honest look at it from God’s perspective and so I reach out for His wisdom. I reach out for His direction. I reach my hands as high to the sky as I possibly can so that I reach His throne of grace. I know that He is never far from my reach, but today I felt like an extra inch in my reach would reach not only His feet but also His face.

I am desperately reaching out to my Father. I need His touch on my own parenting. I hardly ever write about my parenting, because I will be the first to admit that I don’t have a clue how to do it right. It seems that parenting is a skill that is out of my reach. Even though I have had triumphs in many areas of my own life, it seems that I can never measure up when it comes to the life of the ones I lead.

STOP.

Daniel came running with excitement to share with me what he came up with, but he wanted to hear mine first. I was hesitant at first because I felt like mine was a bit of a pity party, but I knew my ten year old could handle it.

“Well, that’s sad, do you want to hear mine?”

“Sure son, whatcha got?”

One day I had to get a book from the highest shelf in the world. I reached and reached but I could not get it down, so I got a stool. But I still could not reach the book so I got a ladder. Still could not reach it.

“I tried everything,” I thought to my self.

“I got it, I will get a trampoline.” So I jumped and jumped.

“Man! I can’t reach it!”

But there was a voice inside by body telling me that “I can do it”.

I reached one last time and ah ha I got it! I jumped up and down of excitement but when I looked at the cover it said, My Little Pony !!!!!!noooooooooooooooo! I could not believe it, I did all that work just to get that. Man! The end.

My 10 year old son taught me a lesson about reaching today. As we reach, God will teach!

I might have felt like a failure as a mother, reaching for Him in His wisdom. At the same time, The Lord was teaching my son to keep reaching, no matter what your feelings tell you to do.

“All your children will be taught by the Lord,and great will be their peace” (Isaiah 54:13).

I stumbled upon this link up through another blog that I follow, Abby’s “Five Minute Friday”, was on wondering if you’ll ever reach the finish line. I have been wondering the same thing. I grabbed onto many balloons of blogs which was the hope in my reach.

balloons-19621-20117-hd-wallpapers3

As I read through some other encouraging blogs on Kate Motaung’s site, my focus was lifted higher. There is an invitation for you to join in on all the fun, and you might have just as much fun as Daniel did.

Photo source

About Jodie Dye

Originally from the Detroit, Michigan area, Jodie has made Bradenton, FL her home since October 2015. A former gang member and drug addict who had lost all hope of living, Dye felt the Lord calling her to follow him on Sept. 1, 1992. She has been following Jesus Christ for over 25 years with a greater addiction than she had with drugs. Her life testifies that God can create beauty from the hopeless cases in today’s society. What the enemy meant for her demise, God turned everything around and all things became new in her life. Bill and Jodie Dye married in October 10, 2010. They have three children each, making their lovely family a model of the brady bunch. Her calling is to prepare the Church for the coming of Jesus Christ. She is very passionate about helping people inside the Church walls to know their identity in Christ so they can be better equipped to live out what they believe. She has written four books with the focus on this preparation. Her book called Beauty Treatments: Prepare to Meet Your King helps the Bride of Christ prepare to meet King Jesus for when He returns. Jodie directs and hosts Beauty Treatment retreats, workshops and conferences. She has also been a speaker at various women's events and conferences. For more information on the next retreat, please visit www.innerbeautytreatments.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Balloons within my Reach

  1. kballor says:

    Great post. I never thought about reaching like this: sometimes reaching requires tenacity for the payoff. Thanks for the food for thought!

    Like

  2. agilitynut says:

    That was a good post. 🙂 so enjoyed reading about your son and what you learned. 🙂

    I am.. Annette @ a net in time. I am found at http://anetintimeschooling.weebly.com/a-net-in-time-blog

    Like

  3. Patty says:

    Love your little guys thoughts. Remember that we all feel like failures at one time or another (or even lots and lots of times). Sometimes even after they grow up. But I figure if Heavenly Father loves them so much the He doesn’t give up on them, then neither should I. I too have learned to just keep reaching. I think you are probably doing so much better than you think you are.

    Like

  4. Abby says:

    Oh Jodie, I feel for you so much during this time with your son. I pray that God will give you the strength and guidance you need. And thank you so much for sharing what your 10 year old wrote. I love it and got a good laugh out of it. Very clever. He is quite a writer! He must be learning from his mom. 🙂

    Like

  5. E Wright says:

    “When I woke up this morning I was reaching for grace.” Jodie, this brief line is so rich with truth, if you had written nothing else in your post, you would have described the reality of the human condition. We are constantly reaching for Him and His grace whether or not we are aware we are doing so. So thankful that He is our present help and reached first for us. Thank for your post. Visiting from Five Minute Friday.

    Like

Leave a Reply

