There is No Place Like Home

complicate

This post is part of Lysa TerKeurst’s “The Best Yes” Blog Tour which I am delighted to be a part of along with many other inspiring bloggers. To learn more and join us, CLICK HERE.

“Relationships can complicate things. But they also have the power to force us into a much simpler rhythm.” Taken from Chapter 15: The Thrill of an Unrushed Yes by Lysa TerKuerst

This quote from Lysa resonates with me to a very high degree. I am a very social person. I love to be around people. I love to encourage people and I love to be equally encouraged by people. People are very important in my life and so when God told me (as you hear a melody in your mind) that He wanted me to give up my social life for a time, it was very hard to do. He knew how much I depended on people to meet my needs. He wanted me to run to Him to fill the void instead.

My life was far from simple. I had so many dramatic and complicated relationships which would be too much for you all to handle, so I will spare you from it, but I wanted to make the point that relationships most definitely complicates things. And so when I believe I heard the Lord right many years later to lay that need down at the altar, I believe there was a power within me that forced me into that simple rhythm to say “Yes Lord”.

In obedience to the voice I heard in my head, I went on a year long sabbatical. I took one whole year to consecrate my life to the Lord, to learn dependence on Him alone, to receive the fullness of what He had for me, to soak in His goodness, to meditate on all His ways, and to apply the Beauty Treatment of Simplicity, which is one of the chapters in my book.

But a couple years before I went on that Sabbatical, the Lord gave me some REALLY good friends. I had found a circle of believers that stood by me, encouraged me through some rough and dark times, and prayed and carried me through deep waters. This group of friends was the hardest to not seek out.

During that year, I got a letter in the mail from an anonymous friend that encouraged me greatly titled:

“There’s No Place Like Home”

297477_2190720481828_5899785_n“Dear Jodie

Just wanted you to know that you are very much in our thoughts and prayers. We are all so proud of your commitment to the Lord and your willingness to live a life of obedience unto the call upon your life. Know that we believe in you, admire you, respect you, and miss you. But most of all, we see clearly in you Jesus Himself and the beautiful love of God, and for this we are grateful. You are not at all far from us, nor we from you. Rather, we are one in Spirit and it is with great expectation and all fullness of hope for your time of great blessings.”

Because they were such good friends they were the kind of people you haven’t seen in a long time and when you see each other again then it is as if there was never a gap of time. Our relationships have deepened over the years, and after many social gatherings, outreaches, mission trips, showers, weddings, and funerals I am saying farewell again. We are moving out of state and since these dear friends have been my closest relationships for all of my life it still complicates things for me, it sends my emotions in a whirlwind. However, I know that the power to force me to a much simpler rhythm is in me. And my friends will always be the melody that moves me to my best “YES” no matter where my home shall be.

New York Times Bestselling author Lysa TerKeurst has written a new book about finding your Best Yes. Many call this book “inspiring” and “fabulous.” I call it my motivator. You can grab a copy at http://goo.gl/ZFUZbD

 

About Jodie Dye

Originally from the Detroit, Michigan area, Jodie has made Bradenton, FL her home since October 2015. A former gang member and drug addict who had lost all hope of living, Dye felt the Lord calling her to follow him on Sept. 1, 1992. She has been following Jesus Christ for over 25 years with a greater addiction than she had with drugs. Her life testifies that God can create beauty from the hopeless cases in today’s society. What the enemy meant for her demise, God turned everything around and all things became new in her life. Bill and Jodie Dye married in October 10, 2010. They have three children each, making their lovely family a model of the brady bunch. Her calling is to prepare the Church for the coming of Jesus Christ. She is very passionate about helping people inside the Church walls to know their identity in Christ so they can be better equipped to live out what they believe. She has written four books with the focus on this preparation. Her book called Beauty Treatments: Prepare to Meet Your King helps the Bride of Christ prepare to meet King Jesus for when He returns. Jodie directs and hosts Beauty Treatment retreats, workshops and conferences. She has also been a speaker at various women's events and conferences. For more information on the next retreat, please visit www.innerbeautytreatments.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

