Set the Table for Special Food

Have you ever been invited for a meal at the same time with different people? You have to choose whose invitation you will accept. That happened to me not too long ago. I got an invitation by an old friend to come over and eat with her. Let me introduce you to my old friend Folly.

“Folly is an unruly woman; she is simple and knows nothing. She sits at the door of her house, on a seat at the highest point of the city, calling out to those who pass by, who go straight on their way, “Let all who are simple come to my house!”To those who have no sense she says, “Stolen water is sweet; food eaten in secret is delicious! But little do they know that the dead are there, that her guests are deep in the realm of the dead” (Proverbs 9:13-18).

I also had the invitation from my new friend named Wisdom, who I ended up eating with after coming to my senses.
Wisdom has built her house; she has set up its seven pillars. She has prepared her meat and mixed her wine; she has also SET HER TABLE. She has sent out her servants, and she calls from the highest point of the city, “Let all who are simple come to my house!” To those who have no sense she says, “Come, eat my food and drink the wine I have mixed. Leave your simple ways and you will live; walk in the way of insight” (Proverbs 9:1-6).

The day started off in a bit of a rush. I decided to take a bath to get my thoughts quieted and ask the Lord for a meal that satisfies. As I was in the bath, I could hear the Lord (as you hear a melody in your mind) say, “Did you set the table? I got your special food but your table is not set.” So I got out of the tub to get my table settings. My journal is called my plate, my pen is a fork, my highlighter is a knife, my empty cup symbolizes my heart, a towel for my tears, and the MEATY Word of God completes the table setting.

Beauty Treatment Retreat 093

As I went in the other room to get my settings, my son Daniel was in the corner of the kitchen sneaking into the candy jar. He was supposed to be on the class connect session with the virtual school. He was caught eating in secret! BUSTED!

So I go back to the tub, and set my table and the Lord began to show me the above verses in Proverbs. Since my son’s heart is often used as a mirror to reflect my own heart, then I began to chew on the verse, “Stolen water is sweet; food eaten in secret is delicious.” And I asked the Lord how does this apply to me? Then as gently as He is when He corrects me and trains me up in His righteousness, He reminded me that I made a commitment to not get on social media on the days that I am fasting. I am not being legalistic but for my own good, I know that there is no life in the social media surfing and it leads to the death of my time. The time that I should have been sitting at the table of wisdom, I chose to sit down with my old friend Folly and I was actually being sneaky about it. I hurried up and checked face-book in secret. BUSTED!

How foolish it is for me to think that I could do anything in secret? Our King sees all, knows all, and hears all. Everything hidden will come to the light. It may be sweet for a moment, and delicious for a time, but this food will rot and will not produce anything. Let us choose the Living Water instead. If the water is stolen, that means it does not belong to us. Which means the Living Water does belong to us. The Living Water is ours for the taking. Isn’t that the sweetest dessert you have ever tasted?

About Jodie Dye

Originally from the Detroit, Michigan area, Jodie has made Bradenton, FL her home since October 2015. A former gang member and drug addict who had lost all hope of living, Dye felt the Lord calling her to follow him on Sept. 1, 1992. She has been following Jesus Christ for over 25 years with a greater addiction than she had with drugs. Her life testifies that God can create beauty from the hopeless cases in today’s society. What the enemy meant for her demise, God turned everything around and all things became new in her life. Bill and Jodie Dye married in October 10, 2010. They have three children each, making their lovely family a model of the brady bunch. Her calling is to prepare the Church for the coming of Jesus Christ. She is very passionate about helping people inside the Church walls to know their identity in Christ so they can be better equipped to live out what they believe. She has written four books with the focus on this preparation. Her book called Beauty Treatments: Prepare to Meet Your King helps the Bride of Christ prepare to meet King Jesus for when He returns. Jodie directs and hosts Beauty Treatment retreats, workshops and conferences. She has also been a speaker at various women's events and conferences. For more information on the next retreat, please visit www.innerbeautytreatments.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

