Always my Earthly king

Sir William Thatcher Dye, Jr. I love thee!Beauty Treatment Retreat 217

When our pastor sat us down to have pre-marital counseling, one the most memorable suggestions for me was “be your husband’s biggest cheerleader”. Today is a cheer-leading kind of day because I woke up with an incredible thankfulness to God for the man he brought into my life. We have been married almost 4 years now. Wow, what an amazing time it has been. So I am going to be a cheerleader and brag on my husband just a little. Go Bill, go!!

I know, I know nobody is perfect! But I have lived with this man for almost 4 years now and I think he is perfect for me. I am not trying to put him on a pedestal either, because King Jesus resides on the throne of my heart. However, I think this man was truly sent to me from the King, to be the king of our home.

When I first met Bill, I almost walked away. Why? Because he didn’t know as much about the Bible as I did. I know, I know that is just so arrogant. Hence, why I didn’t walk away. When I looked into his eyes, I could see all the fruit of the spirit. I could see love in his eyes, joy, peace, goodness, kindness, gentleness, patience, faithfulness, and yes this man even has self -control. I realized this man may not know the Bible, but he sure does live it.

As I watch his life on a daily basis, I have learned a lot along the way. I will share just a few examples so I don’t overwhelm anyone by his goodness. Bill loves me like Christ loves the church. He is selfless in everything he does. If it is in the middle of the night, he is always ready to bring comfort when my heartaches over a prodigal child. There is never a night that he goes to bed without rubbing my head, and praying over me (even if he goes to bed before me, he will still roll over and rub away when I come to bed). Marriage counselors do not recommend using the words “never” and “always” when describing what a marriage partner does. But always is consistent with who my husband is. He is always available for me, always considers my thoughts, he is always loving, always caring, always selfless, always patient and yes he even picks up after me (I try really hard to pick up after myself, but he always beats me to it).

I have learned Bill doesn’t need me to do anything at all for him in order for him to pour his goodness out on me. Likewise, Christ doesn’t need us to do anything, nor does he require us to do anything to be loved by him. He just loves us.

I used to have this mentality that if I do stuff for other people they would love me. If I do more they would love more. But since my husband has shown me this new kind of love (one I have never experienced), a love without expecting anything in return then I can rest in the love that God has for me too. It is pretty awesome!

You see I was a broken girl who grew up too quick, and never heard the advice to wait for the one God would send until the year 2008. I was sexually abused, raped, and very promiscuous from the age of 13 until 20, I asked Jesus to be my Savior in 1992. Even after I got saved though, I married a man who was physically, sexually, and mentally abusive which caused the broken girl inside me to shatter to pieces. When my ex-husband left me to raise our three children, the Lord started to put the pieces back together again. In the solitude and my time alone with the King Jesus (4/16/2008-4/16/2009), he gave me beauty treatments; he cleansed and purified me, healed my heart and made me new. He spoke to my heart to wait for the one He would send me. He told me I could settle for Ishmael, but He has an Isaac for me. I could settle for His permissible will, but I would be much happier with His perfect will. So I waited.

Then one day the janitors at my church arranged for a blind date (12/20/2009). They knew we had to meet. So we met at church. As Bill walked me out to my car I said, “Listen, I am an old fashioned girl. I have played enough games in my lifetime and I am done. I am not handing anything out so if that is what you want then don’t bother calling me.” He called me 10 minutes later and he continued to pursue me, asking me to marry him on 4/16/2010. We married on 10/10/2010.

Engagement 021 Engagement 009Engagement 007 Engagement 012

I am so glad that I said Yes to this man. I do believe that he was the Isaac that God was referring to. Now that almost 4 years have passed Bill has been my best friend, my partner, my support, my lover, my man, my companion, and my earthly king.

GO BILL GO! YOU ARE AN AMAZING HUSBAND!

About Jodie Dye

Originally from the Detroit, Michigan area, Jodie has made Bradenton, FL her home since October 2015. A former gang member and drug addict who had lost all hope of living, Dye felt the Lord calling her to follow him on Sept. 1, 1992. She has been following Jesus Christ for over 25 years with a greater addiction than she had with drugs. Her life testifies that God can create beauty from the hopeless cases in today’s society. What the enemy meant for her demise, God turned everything around and all things became new in her life. Bill and Jodie Dye married in October 10, 2010. They have three children each, making their lovely family a model of the brady bunch. Her calling is to prepare the Church for the coming of Jesus Christ. She is very passionate about helping people inside the Church walls to know their identity in Christ so they can be better equipped to live out what they believe. She has written four books with the focus on this preparation. Her book called Beauty Treatments: Prepare to Meet Your King helps the Bride of Christ prepare to meet King Jesus for when He returns. Jodie directs and hosts Beauty Treatment retreats, workshops and conferences. She has also been a speaker at various women's events and conferences. For more information on the next retreat, please visit www.innerbeautytreatments.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Always my Earthly king

  1. Barbara Brunner says:

    What a wonderful tribute to your husband, Jodie. And also what a great example of (1) waiting on God’s timing (2) crucifying the flesh and (3) being obedient to God. No one can read your blog and not be blessed. (BTW, I’d say Bill is pretty lucky as well!) This blog would be a great love story for Good Housekeeping’s writing contest (check it out at http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/memoir-contest) whose deadline for submission is 9/1/14. You could be their winner!

    Like

  2. heather paul says:

    This is beautiful and a great reminder for all of us to be our husband’s “cheerleader.” I love the example that Christ sets for us to follow. I am excited to meet you next week at She Speaks!

    Like

  3. Jennie says:

    Great article Jodie, it brought tears rolling down my cheeks as it reminds me so much of my Earthly king, my Chip!! He has all the same qualities as Bill. You put into words how God has changed me through Chip’s unconditional love for me. Thanks for sharing your Bill with us today!

    Like

Leave a Reply

