Good things are not always God things

It has been a rough couple weeks on the home-front. I learned a valuable lesson through it all. I learned that good things are not always a God thing. So I cancelled the Beauty Treatment conference that I had scheduled for June 28th. Here is why…

I believe wholeheartedly that what we see in our physical relationships is a direct reflection of the relationship with God. Stick with me. I have seen the connection, so let me explain.

I find that when my children are unruly, it is not so much a reflection on what I am doing wrong as a mother, on the contrary, it is more of a reflection of my own unruliness before God.

“Know then in your heart that as a man disciplines his son, so the Lord your God disciplines you.” Deuteronomy 8:5

Yes I have had to discipline my teenager for some unruly behavior, but I also had to get on my knees in repentance to the unruly behavior I have had with my Heavenly Father. We all like sheep go astray, and it is His rod that brings us back into right relationship with him.

Here is where I have fallen short. I have not been asking Father for His permission to do things. I have been making plans without inquiring of the Lord. “I am all grown up to make my own choices, and the choices I make won’t affect anyone.” Ah the ringing of those words from my son reflect my heart more than I want to admit.

Or this one, “I want my xbox back, but I am not going to do my math to get that privilege.” Ok so this is where my unruly behavior shows, “I want my way, but I am not going to do what the Lord tells me to do to get what I want.”

No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it. Hebrews 12:11

This scenario is what God used to show me that He was not in the plan for the conference. “It is such a good thing though God” “Yes Jodie, it is a good thing, but it is not my thing for you to do.” So if the Lord does not go before me, then you better believe that I won’t be going. Slow the Row Jode!

Praise Report: Once I made the decision to obey the Lord, my son all of a sudden started obeying me. Go figure! Haha Love this quote by Bill Cosby:

download

About Jodie Dye

Originally from the Detroit, Michigan area, Jodie has made Bradenton, FL her home since October 2015. A former gang member and drug addict who had lost all hope of living, Dye felt the Lord calling her to follow him on Sept. 1, 1992. She has been following Jesus Christ for over 25 years with a greater addiction than she had with drugs. Her life testifies that God can create beauty from the hopeless cases in today’s society. What the enemy meant for her demise, God turned everything around and all things became new in her life. Bill and Jodie Dye married in October 10, 2010. They have three children each, making their lovely family a model of the brady bunch. Her calling is to prepare the Church for the coming of Jesus Christ. She is very passionate about helping people inside the Church walls to know their identity in Christ so they can be better equipped to live out what they believe. She has written four books with the focus on this preparation. Her book called Beauty Treatments: Prepare to Meet Your King helps the Bride of Christ prepare to meet King Jesus for when He returns. Jodie directs and hosts Beauty Treatment retreats, workshops and conferences. She has also been a speaker at various women's events and conferences. For more information on the next retreat, please visit www.innerbeautytreatments.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

