Come and Eat Special Food in the Dark

Come on in to my dark room and taste a sweet truth about my calling.
1958354_10203872193257939_1103690370289684641_n
Digital photography has literally taken the place of the 35 mm camera. People my age or older would take great pictures and have to send them away to go through a process to get developed, and then we would hope to receive good images after a few days in the dark room.

Christine Caine, author of Unstoppable, challenged me to think of my calling as not my career. Though she doesn’t know me, it sure did sound like she did when she preached at She Speaks in North Carolina a couple weeks ago.

She described the dark room as the place where God was going to prepare me. I have had my share of going into the dark room, but now I find myself wanting and needing the dark room more than I ever have before.

My dark room days as a child started when I was left all alone, as soon as mother left home. My dark room days as a teenager were wrapped in all sorts of badness such as drugs, immorality, and all types of gang activity. My dark room days as a young Christian were smothered in physical, sexual, and mental abuse.

But then there were dark room days as a godly woman and although they were overpowered by the love of God, and the grace that only He could give, it was a painful time. The Lord called me into the dark room for one whole year to be totally unavailable for any dating relationships, to step down from ministry, give up my social life, and stay home with my three children trusting Him to provide while living on $250 a month. Wow was that a hard time.

But in that time, He forgave me, cleansed me, purified me and made me ready in my dark room days for the godly man that made me his wife.

God gave me a testimony and it is human nature to want to share it. I wrote a book. I wanted the whole world to know about my God, and what He has done for me. Isn’t that the natural response? I would think so. However, since writing the book the dark room days have been minimal, because the spotlight has been on me. Yes I have been self marketing. I have been trying to get my book in the right hands; so that if I could just get it into the right hands then surely I would be noticed by the world and surely everyone would want my book. NOT!

Until that conference I thought I had enough dark room days for my entire lifetime, but obviously if my image is what I am still seeing in my day to day actions, then I need the dark room again so that ONLY His image can be seen in me. In the process of His Image being developed in me, I am so willing and ready to go back into the dark room until He comes and finds me and tells me to come out. So if you are wondering where I am, you will find me in the dark room waiting for the image of the Son to be forever impressed in my heart. Then my light will shine.

Many lives were changed after hearing this talk from Christine. I encourage my readers to listen to this message on the dark room. She had a slightly different angle when speaking to 800 writers/speakers but the message is still the same. Be sure you know the difference between a career and a calling.

About Jodie Dye

Originally from the Detroit, Michigan area, Jodie made Bradenton, FL her home from October 2015 until May of 2023. Since then she and her husband sold their house and have moved into their 5th wheel traveling as the Dye-Nomadic Duo. A former gang member and drug addict who had lost all hope of living, Dye felt the Lord calling her to follow him on Sept. 1, 1992. She has been following Jesus Christ for over 30 years with a greater addiction than she had with drugs. Her life testifies that God can create beauty from the hopeless cases in today’s society. What the enemy meant for her demise, God turned everything around and all things became new in her life. Bill and Jodie Dye married in October 10, 2010. They have three children each, making their lovely family a model of the Brady Bunch. Her calling is to prepare the Church for the coming of Jesus Christ. She is very passionate about helping people inside the Church walls to know their identity in Christ so they can be better equipped to live out what they believe. She has written four books with the focus on this preparation. Her book called Beauty Treatments: Prepare to Meet Your King helps the Bride of Christ prepare to meet King Jesus for when He returns. Jodie directs and hosts Beauty Treatment retreats, workshops and conferences. She has also been a speaker at various women's events and conferences. For more information on the next retreat, please visit www.beautytreatmentsministry.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Come and Eat Special Food in the Dark

  1. Pingback: SHE SPEAKS LINK UP - Courtney DeFeo

  2. Hey Jodie. He’s going to use that book. I know it. I’m proud of your courage and vulnerability today. She rocked me as well. So glad to meet you!

    Like

    • jodiesdye says:

      Thank you for your encouragement Courtney! So glad to meet you too. Karmen was my roommate and she talked highly of you, wish I would of had the opportunity to meet you at She Speaks. Next year!!!

      Like

  3. Carissa says:

    Awesome post! I love how honest you are. Christine’s message at She Speaks in particular caused me to stop and assess my motives. It’s so easy to get caught up in our own self promotion and stop paying attention to the calling that God has given us. I’m so thankful for the She Speaks experience!

    Like

  4. Juli Jules Bryant says:

    Thank you for linking up and for sharing your story. I am sure God will use your story and your book. . .in His time.

    Like

  5. bonita rose says:

    Being there was so life changing for me too.. I will never be the same! Can’t wait till next year!

    Like

  6. kballor says:

    Love the authentic way you tell your story!

    Like

  7. Gina says:

    Amazing post, and I know that God will use (and already has used) your story. I think Christine’s message resonated with all of us-and I know that we are all bound to go through dark room seasons until we’re on the other side of glory.

    Praying that he will continue to use your darkroom days! And mine too!

    Like

  8. darcycottone says:

    What a beautiful page and message! I will look forward to checking out your book and more of your blog!

    Like

Leave a comment